Home Politics LP Candidate Defeats Banky W To Clinch Eti-Osa Federal Constituency

LP Candidate Defeats Banky W To Clinch Eti-Osa Federal Constituency


Mr Thaddeus Attah of the Labour Party (LP) has been declared the winner of the Eti-Osa Federal Constituency seat in the House of Representatives by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The INEC Returning Officer, Prof Funmilayo Odukoya, announced the results at the Collation Centre located at Lagos State Model Nursery and Primary School in Marwa, Lekki 1 on Sunday.

Attah emerged victorious with 24,075 votes, defeating his opponents, Mr Olubankole Wellington (Banky W) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who had 18,666 votes, and Mr Babajide Obanikoro of the APC, who had 16, 901 votes.

The other candidates received the following votes: Mr Oladehin Olufemi, African Democratic Congress, 1,422 votes; Mr Azeez Kabirat of New Nigeria Peoples Party, 414 votes, and Mr Olasunkanmi Ololade, Social Democratic Party, 207 votes.

However, before the results were announced, there was commotion between party agents and INEC officers regarding the credibility of the results. The APC and PDP agents refused to accept the results until their complaints were addressed. The PDP agent, Mr Aderemi Adeshina, alleged that some voters were disenfranchised in some polling units in the LGA, and that the results recorded in some units were not transmitted through the BVAS machine.

Despite their protests, INEC announced Thaddeus Attah as the winner of the election. Security agents, including the police and army, were present to maintain peace and order during the announcement of the results.

Related Posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here